Hello dear reader! You seem to have found my very first post.

Today we’re gong to have quite a light post, just to get us going. We’re just entering a New Year, and it’s quite timely to reevaluate what you’re doing in all areas of your life and set yourself some goals. While I don’t subscribe to the whole ‘new year, new me’ thing, working in retail and getting the Christmas season out of the way means a bit of head space and having time to look at what I’m doing. So why not set some craft goals too?

  1. Make things in a different style. I love to make really wacky stuff. I’m currently knitting myself some form of a Clanger costume. It’s completely mad and I love it. But I’m also trying to make some more sensible things. I’m also working on a much more sensible jumper from a book my brother got me for Christmas. While I love the creativity and making it up as I go along, working from a pattern and creating something I could wear in front of my Grandma is actually quite refreshing.

    IMG_0031.jpg
    Why wouldn’t an adult want to dress like a Clanger?
  2. Try new techniques. I’ve got myself up to a certain level in knitting where I have a wide skill set and don’t often try something new. However, in the jumper I’m making there’s a technique to create a cable I haven’t tried before. Guess what? I love it! I’ve been enjoying knitting this so much and I very rarely knit something from a pattern without changing something. A big part of that is enjoying this new technique. Try something new because you’ll never know if you like it otherwise.

    IMG_0032.jpg
    Please excuse the fuzziness, but hey, it could be a fuzzy jumper, right?
  3. Make more things to use regularly. In case you haven’t noticed by now, I’m a big knitter. It’s my absolute favorite craft. For years the only thing I really made and wore regularly were scarfs. Through 2015 I made a couple of jumpers and they’re even more satisfying to wear than scarfs, and I get an even bigger glowing feeling inside when people compliment the garment, unaware it was made by myself.

    1512042_10154228941124056_4928524514920185395_o
    Flamingo jumper. It might be mad and colourful, but so am I.
  4. Make more things for other people. Every now and then I go through a ‘I’m going to cross stitch all the birthday cards’ phase. You can completely customize it to be aimed at them and their interests, and they love that you spent to time on it for them. Maybe this year I’ll do it more consistently. Handing over a scarf you’ve knitted yourself, or something you’ve made and designed based on something they said? Even more gratifying.

    Violin card.jpg
    Birthday Card for a friend who likes a good fiddle!
  5. Revise old techniques. This week, I found a way to make a purl stitch without leaving a big hole in what I’m making. I’m a little bit embarrassed I was living with the way I was doing it and didn’t think to correct myself earlier in all honesty. Just because you already know how to do something doesn’t mean it’s the best way.

Well, that’s about it for today. See you next week!

